Graduate Students

Ruhul Amin (Mardin Artuklu University)

Supervisor: Assoc. Prof. Ramazan ARAS

Email: ruhul.amin@ibnhaldun.edu.tr

Research interests: anthropology of Islam, madrasa education in Bangladesh

 
Muhammad Akbar Angkasa (Istanbul 29 Mayis University)

Supervisor: Assist. Prof. Mehmet ÖZAY

Emailakbar.angkasa0@gmail.com

Research interests: an 18-19 century of Aceh history, Islamic thought history, the relation between west and east thought histories

 
Huzaifa Asim (Istanbul Sehir University)

Supervisor:

Emailhuzaifaasim@std.sehir.edu.tr

Research interests: ethnic minorities, social change, folk culture, identity, post-colonialism, orientalism, anthropology

 
Hibatuallah Bensaid (Effat University)

Supervisor: Assoc. Prof. Ramazan ARAS

Emailhibatuallah.bensaid@ibnhaldun.edu.tr

Research interests: the socio-anthropological study of social sustainability, virtue-ethics in sustainability, social change

 
Büşra Coşkun (Marmara University)

Supervisor: Assoc. Prof. Ramazan ARAS

Emailbsracoskn@windowslive.com

Research interests: religion, Islam, Islamophobia, the perception of Islam in the media, culture, education, secularization and modernization, immigration and refugees, globalization, racism, human rights, inequality, poverty and social stratification

 
Nurefşan Çelenk (Galatasaray University)

Supervisor:

Emailnur.celenk@gmail.com

 
Ibtissem Chatta (Aix Marseille University)

Supervisor: Assist. Prof. Nursem Keskin AKSAY

Emailchatta.ibtissem@ibnhaldun.edu.tr

Research interests: sociology of religion, inequality in society, postcolonialism, Islamophobia, social marginalization, role of media, the propaganda model, radicalization, security threat

 
Nesibe Demir (Necmeddin Erbakan University)

Supervisor: Assist. Prof. Nursem Keskin AKSAY

Emailnesibedemir@ibnhaldun.edu.tr

Research interests: social change, globalization, social inequalities, family, religion and education.

 
Murat Dursun (Middle East Technical University)

Supervisor: Assist. Prof. Mehmet ÖZAY

Emailmurat.dursun@ibnhaldun.edu.tr

Research interests: cultural studies, multiculturalism, immigration, international migration

 
Nesma Ahmed El-Sayed (Wayne State University)

Supervisor: Assoc. Prof. Ramazan ARAS

Emailnesma.elsayed@ibnhaldun.edu.tr

Research interests: identity, technology, quantitative methods, globalization

 
Salma El-Zamel (McMaster University)

Supervisor: Assist. Prof. Nursem Keskin AKSAY

Emailsalma.elzamel@ibnhaldun.edu.tr

Research interests: minority representation and border epistemology, globalization of Islamophobia, post-colonialism and modern secularism in traditional societies

 
Abdirashid Diriye Kalmoy (Hacettepe University)

Supervisor: Assoc. Prof. Ramazan ARAS

Emailqadar1917@hotmail.com

Research interests: colonialism and post-colonialism, ethno-nationalism, race and identity, borders and borderlines critical theory, Somali studies and oral historiography

 
Zülfiye Keleş (Istanbul Technical University)

Supervisor: Assist. Prof. Nursem Keskin AKSAY

Emailzulfiyekeles@gmail.com

Research interests: urban sociology, globalization and immigration, human rights & activism, poverty, social psychology, Islam, Islamophobia, media, modernization, discourse analysis

 
Ayşenur Ögcem (Marmara University)

Supervisor: Assist. Prof. Mehmet ÖZAY

Emailaysenur.ogcem@ibnhaldun.edu.tr

Research interests: political sociology, sociology of religion, historical sociology, social memory, social change, secularism, theories of modernization, identity

 
Nesibe Şahin (Cumhuriyet University)

Supervisor: Assist. Prof. Nursem Keskin AKSAY

Emailnunsinba@gmail.com

Research interests: post-colonialism, orientalism, Eurocentrism, cultural anthropology

 
Betül Tozlu (Marmara University)

Supervisor: Assist. Prof. Nursem Keskin AKSAY

Emailbetultozlu@gmail.com

Research interests: sociolinguistics, sociology of culture and cultural studies, racism, inequalities, social stratification, identity, globalization, modernization and the relationship between religion and society

 
  THESIS  
Haktan Tursun (Middle East Technical University)

Supervisor: Assoc. Prof. Ramazan Aras

Email: haktan.tursun@ihu.edu.tr

Research interests: religious communities, Roman diaspora, Roman sufis, identity, anthropology.

 

Fields marked with an * are required